The Penny Mint is a community for passionate young writers, amplifying new voices and providing a platform to publish, perform and perfect their words. Together, we’re building a space for experimental poetry, spoken word, essays, serialised fiction and everything in between.

Penny is the brainchild of writer, performer and educator Mia Boonen, who longed for a space amongst the growing Melbourne creative scene for young writers to thrive. Together with co-founders Jake Stevens and Ella Crowley, Penny was brought to life in December 2018; since then, we’ve published over 80 pieces - including contributions filed from remote towns in Vietnam - and have plenty more on the way!

In 2020, we’ll be providing even more opportunities for young writers, including in the performative space. To stay tuned with our plans, like us on Facebook or follow us on Instagram and Twitter.

Looking to contribute? Check out our submissions page for more information.

The Penny Mint acknowledges and pays respect to the traditional custodians of the lands on which our work is produced and distributed; the Boonwurrung, Waddawurrung and Woiwurrung people of the Kulin nation. The Penny Mint also acknowledges and pays respect to the Elders of the lands on which our work reaches. Sovereignty never ceded. It always was, and always will be, Aboriginal land.

The Penny Mint writers

Amy Rose Quick
Belle Clerehan
Dillon South
Eiddwen Jeffery
Ella Crowley
Jake Stevens
Jay Curtis
Kara Morton-Galea
Leo Hoffman-Lloyd
Maxine Palmerson
Mia Boonen
Rebel Maddocks-Roe
Saanjana Kapoor
Samira Reason
September Barker
Spencer Davis
Stella Mollica
Will Hall
Zadie Mccracken